Historic PlacesPlaces in Mysore

Mysore Palace

Mysore palace is the official house of  Wodeyars (Kings of Mysore).  This palace is known as Mysore Palace or Ambavilas Palace.  The construction of this palace was started in 1897 and completed in 1912. It was expanded in 1940.

Temples in the Palace complex: There are 12 temples in the palace complex.  Important temples are

  1. Someshwara Temple
  2. Lakshmi Narayana Temple
  3. shweta Varahaswamy temple

Important halls  of Palace:

  1. Ambavilasa
  2. Kalyana Mantapa
  3. Gombe thotti.

Palace Timings for visitors:   The Palace will be opened for visitors from 10am to 5.30 pm on all the days.

Light Illumination Timings:  Sundays and public holidays – 7pm to 8pm.

Saturday- 7pm to 7.30pm

Entrance Fees:  For adults:  Rs 20

Children below 10years:  Rs 10

Foreign nationals: Rs 200

Photography and filming is not allowed inside the palace.